Values and Qualities are key components of your account. The Qualities (or traits, characteristics, or behaviours) are what will be reinforced every time one of your team members sends a message of recognition. As messages are sent, the KQ and reporting features will provide you with information on what Values and Qualities your team is being recognized for.
Your account comes with a default list of Values and Qualities. This article will guide you through adding, editing and archiving Values and Qualities.
To start customizing your Values and Qualities, go to:
Admin ⚙️ > Account Settings > Customize > Values & Qualities
The first thing you'll see is the current Values being used by your organization. If you want to edit an existing Value, click the Edit button to the right. Here you can change the Name, Colour, and Description.
To add a completely new Value, click + New Value. From here you'll be able to edit the same fields as if you were editing an existing Value (Name, Colour and Description). When you're done editing your Values, click Save.
If you need to remove a Value, simply archive all Qualities associated with the Value. Once there are no Qualities tied to a Value, the Value will no longer appear on the KQ & Values page.
Below the Values is the Qualities section. Qualities are the behaviours that build up the Values. For example, if one of your core organizational values is Transparency, example qualities could be Honesty, Openness, and/or Communication.
In the Qualities section, you can edit, add, or archive the individual Qualities. To add a new Quality, click + New Quality. A blank field will appear where you can type in the name of the new Quality and assign it to a Value. When you're finished, click Save.
To change which Value an existing Quality is assigned to, click the drop-down menu beside the Quality and select the Value you want the Quality to be attributed to. From this dropdown menu, you will also see the option to Deactivate - Archive Qualities. Selecting this option will remove the Quality and place it in the Quality Archive.
To view Archived Qualities click Archived Qualities. You can choose to unarchive a Quality by selecting a Value from the dropdown menu to the right of the Archived Quality. If you want to remove a Quality completely, you can delete it by selecting Remove.
Once a Quality has been attached to a message, you cannot completely remove the Quality. It will be kept in Archived Qualities for reporting purposes.
We hope this helps! If you have any questions, please reach out to us at firstname.lastname@example.org and one of our friendly team members will be happy to assist you.