Admins can restrict individual users from receiving points and seeing anything related to rewards while still allowing them to give recognition (with or without points.) This enables you to exclude specific users from your rewards budget, such as executives, or temporary, part-time, or contract workers, while still allowing them the opportunity to contribute to culture and performance through the Kudos® platform.
Disabling Rewards for a user restricts their ability to receive points to build a redeemable points balance. If they have a Points to Give allocation, this does not impact their ability to send points to other users.
How To Use Points and Rewards Eligibility
Points and Rewards eligibility can be managed on a single user basis, or through the bulk user upload. To enable or disable points for specific users, navigate to Admin ⚙️> User Admin. If your organization has points turned on for your Kudos® platform, rewards are enabled for each user by default. To disable rewards for a single user, simply uncheck Rewards Enabled beside their name. This action is reflected in your Kudos® platform immediately.
To manage Points and Rewards eligibility in bulk, please reference our article here. There is a column on the bulk upload spreadsheet that will allow you to enable or disable rewards for each user.
Yes, you can set a Points to Give Allocation for a user, so that they can still send Points with their recognition messages while disabling Rewards so that they cannot receive Points to redeem.
Related article: How Do Kudos Points Work?
Yes, you can. To do this, you will need to enable rewards through User Admin and ensure their Points to Give allocation is set to 0.
If you’ve restricted points and rewards for a specific user, they will not see any reference to rewards in your Kudos® platform. They will not be able to access the Rewards page through the main menu, and they will not see a redeemable points balance on their Me Page. If the user has a points allocation, they will see their Points to Give balance on their Me Page.
If you disable rewards for a user who could previously access rewards, they will no longer be able to access the Rewards page or see their redeemable points balance on their Me Page. If they try to access the Rewards page through a previous link, they will receive an error to let them know they cannot access Rewards.
No, disabling rewards for a user who already has a redeemable points balance will not clear their redeemable points balance. If you’d like to reset a user’s redeemable points balance when you disable rewards, please reference Admin Redeem Feature.
If you re-enable rewards for a user without clearing their redeemable points through the Admin Redeem Feature, their redeemable points balance and previous rewards history will be reinstated exactly as they were when you disabled rewards. If you did clear their redeemable points balance prior to re-enabling rewards, they would be able to see the Rewards page and receive points to build up a new redeemable points balance, starting at zero.
In this case, the message will be sent with points to those with rewards enabled and without points to those with rewards disabled. The sender will see a message detailing the points breakdown for each recipient. The image below shows an example where 2 of 3 recipients can receive points:
We hope this helps! If you have any questions, please reach out to us at email@example.com and one of our friendly team members will be happy to assist you.